Kiwi Physicists Abroad

"Intellectual Capital - NZ's most valuable export"

The primary purpose of this web page is to provide contacts for New Zealand physicists and especially physics students
who may be considering going abroad to further their physics research including graduate school.
All the physicists listed below have agreed to provide information if asked.

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

North America
Physicist Current Institution / Email Research Interests / Recent Papers Past Institutions Ph.D (year) / B.Sc.
Charles
Alcock
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
webpage
calcock@cfa.harvard.edu
Experimental Astrophysics; Macho Project
arXiv
U. Pennsylvania, Livermore Nat Lab, MIT, Princeton IAS CalTech 1978
Auckland
Neil
Ashcroft
Cornell U.
webpage
nwa@msc.cornell.edu
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
arXiv
U of Chicago Cambridge 1964
Victoria
Nathaniel
Bowden
Sandia Nat. Labs.
webpage
nbowden@sandia.gov
Experimental Low Energy Physics: Anti-hydrogen, Reactor Anti-Neutrinos
arXiv, Spires
. Harvard 2004
Auckland
Mark
Bowick
Syracuse U
webpage
bowick@physics.syr.edu
Theoretical Particle Physics: Random Surfaces, Simplicial Gravity, Statistical Mechanics of Membranes and Topological Defects
arXiv
MIT, Yale CalTech 1983
Canterbury
Anthony
Chan
Rice U
webpage
anthony-chan@rice.edu
Theoretical Space Plasma Physics
arXiv
Dartmouth College Princeton 1991
Auckland
Lloyd M.
Davis
U of Tennessee Space Institute
webpage
ldavis@utsi.edu
single molecule detection and spectroscopy, laser applications to chemical analysis, classical, quantum, and non-linear optics, chemical physics, biotechnology, biophysics, Monte Carlo simulations.
arXiv, pubs
Los Alamos National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Auckland 1985
Auckland
Richard
Easther
Yale
webpage
richard.easther@yale.edu
Cosmology
arXiv
Columbia, Brown U, Cornell, Waseda University Canterbury 1994
Canterbury
Gene
Flanagan
Purdue U
webpage
gflanaga@purdue.edu
Experimental Particle Physics, CDF
arXiv, Spires
Michigan State Michigan State '05
Victoria
Robin
Kennedy
Florida A&M University
webpage
kennedy@cennas.nhmfl.gov
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics: Growth and Characterization of Thin Films
arXiv
National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Florida State U, Florida Atlantic U, U of Hong Kong, U of Strathclyde, Simon Fraser U, U of Indiana (Bloomington), U of London (Queen Mary & City Colleges) Canterbury 1977
Canterbury
Bruce
King
????
Particle Physics Experiment
arXiv, Spires
Brookhaven National Laboratory,
CERN, DESY
Columbia 1994
Victoria
Mark
Kruse
Duke University
webpage
mkruse@phy.duke.edu
Experimental Particle Physics
arXiv, Spires
Rochester U Purdue 1996
Auckland
David
Lowe
Brown University
webpage
lowe@het.brown.edu
Theoretical High Energy Physics:
Quantum Gravity, Strings, Black Hole Physics
arXiv
CalTech,
U of California, Santa Barbara
Princeton 1993
Cambridge
Jeremy
Lys
Lawrence Berkeley Nat Lab
webpage
lys@lbl.gov
Experimental Particle Physics - CDF
arXiv, Spires
Fermilab Oxford 1964
Canterbury
Grant
Lythe
Leeds U.
webpage
grant@maths.leeds.ac.uk
Stochastic Differential Equations, Noisy Dynamics
arXiv
Los Alamos Nat Lab, U. Libre de Bruxelles Cambridge 1994
Auckland
Alick
MacPherson
Rutgers
webpage
alick.macpherson@cern.ch
HEP experiment, CMS pixel detector
Spires
CERN, PSI Alberta U. 1996
Auckland
John
Millener
Brookhaven Nat Lab
webpage
millener@bnl.gov
Theoretical Nuclear Physics: Structure of Light Nuclei and Hypernuclei
arXiv
Oxford University Oxford 1972
Auckland
George
Miller
U of Tulsa
webpage
gpmiller@utulsa.edu
Instrumenatation, laser applications to chemical analysis, cavity ringdown spectroscopy, low temperature plasmas.
arXiv, Spires
U. of Alabama, Huntsville; Mississippi State U. Waikato 88 Waikato
Peter
Morgan
U Mass Amherst
webpage
ptmorgan@physics.umass.edu
Experimental Neutrino Physics: neutrinoless double beta decay, EXO
arXiv
UMass Amherst
Auckland
Craig
Ogilvie
Iowa Styate
webpage
ogilvie@iastate.edu
Heavy Ion Experimental Physics: Searching for the Quark-Gluon Plasma
arXiv, Spires

MIT, Michigan State U, GSI Germany
U of Birmingham (UK), 1987
Canterbury
Stephen
Parke
Fermi Nat. Accelerator Lab.
webpage
parke@fnal.gov
Theoretical Particle Physics:
Neutrinos, Higgs Boson, Top Quark and QCD.
arXiv
SLAC, Stanford U. Harvard 1980
Auckland
Amanda Peet U. Toronto
webpage
peet@physics.toronto.ca
Theoretical High Energy Physics:
String Theory, Black Holes and Quantum Gravity
arXiv
KITP-U of California, Santa Barbara Princeton 1994
Canterbury
David
Radford
Oak Ridge Nat. Lab.
webpage
radfordd@mail.phy.ornl.gov
Nuclear structure experiment,
radioactive ion beams
arXiv
Yale University, CNRS Strasbourg, ANL, AECL Chalk River Auckland 1978
Auckland
Martin
Savage
U. of Washington
webpage
savage@phys.washington.edu
Nuclear and Particle Theory, Lattice
arXiv
Carnegie Mellon, U. of California, San Diego, Rutgers U CalTech 1990
Auckland
Steve
Smith
Boston U
webpage
smsm@bu.edu
Space Physics; gravity waves in night-time mesospheric airglow using all-sky optical imaging and tomography.
pubs
.
Canterbury 1997,
Canterbury
David
Stoker
University of California, Irvine
webpage
stoker@sunny.ps.uci.edu
Experimental Particle Physics, BaBar, D0, ATLAS
arXiv, Spires
Johns Hopkins U., Stanford Linear Accelerator Center U of California, Berkeley 1985,
Auckland

Robin
Stuart
Merrill Lynch, NY
Theoretical Particle Physics Phenomenology; Precision Electroweak Physics
arXiv
U. of Michigan, Ann Arbor, CERN, Max-Planck-Institute Munich, CINVESTAV Mexico Oxford 1985,
Otago
Neil
Sullivan
U of Florida, Gainsville
webpage
sullivan@phys.ufl.edu
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics: Quantum Solids and Fluids,
Low Temperature Physics, Magnetic Resonance of Solids
arXiv
. Harvard 1972,
Otago
Nikolai
Tolich
Lawrence Berkeley Nat. Lab.
webpage
nrtolich@lbl.gov
Experimental Neutrino Physics; KamLAND, SNO
Spires
. Stanford 2005,
Auckland

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

Europe
Physicist Current Institution / Email Research Interests / Papers Past Institutions Ph.D (year) / B.Sc.
John
Dudley
UniversitÚ de Franche-ComtÚ, Besanšon France
john.dudley@univ-fcomte.fr
Fiber optics, optoelectronics, telecommunications
arXiv
U of St Andrews Auckland 1992
Auckland
Michael
Kelly
Cambridge U.
webpage
mjk1@cam.ac.uk
Solid State Physics
arXiv
Surrey, GEC Hirst Research Laboratory Cambridge 1981
Victoria
Mark
Lee
Oxford U.
webpage
m.lee1@physics.ox.ac.uk
Atomic and Laser Physics
arXiv
Oxford 2004
Victoria
Ray
Mackintosh
Open University, Milton Keynes
webpage
r.mackintosh@open.ac.uk
Nuclear Reaction Theory
arXiv
ANU, Oxford University, Daresbury Laborartory UC Berkeley 1970
Auckland
Ian
Thompson
University of Surrey, Guildford
webpage
I.Thompson@surrey.ac.uk
Nuclear Reaction Theory, Nuclear Halo Structure
arXiv
U of Manchester, Daresbury Lab, U of Bristol Auckland 1979
Auckland
Michael
Tyndel
Rutherford Appelton Lab.
webpage
m.tyndel@rl.ac.uk
Experimental Particle Physics, LEP, LHC
arXiv, Spires
CERN Cambridge 1978
Auckland

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

Asia-Australia
Physicist Current Institution / Email Research Interests / Papers Past Institutions Ph.D (year) / B.Sc.
Ashton Bradley U of Queensland
abradley@physics.uq.edu.au
BEC, Phase Space Methods, Computational physics, Many Body Quantum dynamics
arXiv
??? ??
??
Paul Cochrane U of Queensland
cochrane@physics.uq.edu.au
Atom lasers, BEC, Quantum information, Computational physics, Quantum dynamics, Photonics
arXiv
Brisbane Queensland 2002
Waikato
Andrew Doherty U of Queensland
doherty@physics.uq.edu.au
Atom lasers, BEC, Quantum information, Computational physics, Quantum dynamics, Photonics
arXiv
Cal Tech, Yale Auckland 1999
Canterbury
Matthew Davis U of Queensland
mdavis@physics.uq.edu.au
Atom lasers, Bose-Einstein condensation, Computational Physics, Quantum Dynamics.
arXiv
Oxford Oxford 2001
Otago
Peter Drummond U of Queensland
drummond@physics.uq.edu.au
Atom lasers, BEC, Quantum information, Computational physics, Quantum dynamics, Photonics
arXiv
U of Rochester, Auckland U, IBM Laboratories, NTT Basic Research Labs Waikato 1979
Auckland
Duncan Forbes Swinburne University
dforbes@swin.edu.au
Astrophysics and Astronomy
arXiv
Faulkes Telescope, Birmingham, Lick Observatory, STScI Cambridge 1992
Canterbury
Don Koks DSTO, Salisbury
dkoks@physics.adelaide.edu.au
quantum gravity, mathematical physics
arXiv
. Adelaide 1996
Auckland
Hugh Luckock U of Sydney
luckock_h@maths.usyd.edu.au
quantum gravity, mathematical physics
arXiv
. Newcastle upon Tyne 1989
Auckland
Murray Olsen U. of Queensland
mko@physics.uq.edu.au
Quantum optics, Bose-Einstein Condensates, Phase Space Simulations
arXiv
Universidade Fed. Fluminense & Rio de Janeiro, Universidade de Sao Paulo Auckland 1997
Auckland
Andy Wilkins Queensland U
awilkins@maths.uq.edu.au
quantum gravity, mathematical physics
arXiv
. Adelaide 1998
Canterbury

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

South America
Physicist Current Institution / Email Research Interests / Papers Past Institutions Ph.D (year) / B.Sc.

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

Graduate Students
Physicist Current Institution / Email Research Interests / Papers Thesis Topic B.Sc.
Peter Adshead Yale University
peter.adshead@yale.edu
Cosmology
arXiv
Canterbury
Greg Ball Harvard University
greg_ball@post.harvard.edu
Radio Astronomy
arXiv
Auckland
David Heffernan Osaka University
david@champ.hep.sci.osaka-u.ac.jp
Experimental Particle Physics, Belle Exp
arXiv
Osaka
Russell Neilson Stanford
rneilson@stanford.edu
Experimental Neutrino Physics
arXiv
EXO Auckland
Lydia Philpott Imperial College London
l.philpott06@imperial.ac.uk
Quantum Gravity, Causal Sets
arXiv
Auckland
Angus Prain University of Waterloo
aprian@math.uwaterloo.ca
Cosmology, Quantum Field Theory
arXiv
Canterbury
Kendra Vant MIT
kvant@mit.edu
Atomic Physics
arXiv
Auckland

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

Scholarships for Graduate Students from NZ:
Institution Scholarship
Fulbright NZ Details for NZ appliciants
Harvard Frank Knox Scholarship, Details for NZ appliciants
Stanford Stanford Graduate Fellowships, (no additional application reguired.)
CalTech William H. Pickering Fellowships, (no additional application reguired.)

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

Repatriated
Physicist Current Institution / Email Research Interests / Papers Past Institutions Ph.D (year) / B.Sc.
Jon-Paul R. Wells Canterbury
jon-paul.wells@canterbury.ac.nz
Four-wave mixing spectroscopy using Free Electron Laser's
arXiv
Sheffield, FOM Institute For Plasmaphysics 'Rijnhuizen', Nieuwegein, The Netherlands Optical Materials Research Centre, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow Canterbury 1997
Canterbury
David Wiltshire Canterbury
david.wiltshire@canterbury.ac.nz
General Relativity, Quantum Gravity and Cosmology
arXiv
Adelaide, ICTP, Trieste, Italy; U of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK.
Cambridge U 1987
Canterbury
Matt Visser Victoria
matt.visser@mcs.vuw.ac.nz
Gravity Theory - especially the gravity-quantum interface
arXiv
Washington U, Los Alamos Nat Lab, Southern California U
UC Berkeley 1984
Victoria

North America / Europe / Asia - Australia / South America / Graduate Students / Scholarships / Repatriated / Other Information

Other:
Institution
Physics Position in NZ: Rumor Page, From Spires
Kiwis in Spires

Board: Heath O'Connell (hoc@fnal.gov), Stephen Parke (parke@fnal.gov), Amanda Peet (peet@physics.toronto.ca), Martin Savage (savage@phys.washington.edu)

Maintained and copyrighted, since 1998, by Stephen Parke (parke@fnal.gov): last update Aug 2009
Please send me comments and especially additions: